4.-        Council

4.1.-     Composition

The Council shall consist of representatives of Full and International Members, excluding those being owner, major shareholder or managing director in an auctioneering or e-commerce company, in the following terms:

(i)            A Group is represented by one Member on the Council with one vote.

(ii)           A Branch with less than 41 Full Members is represented by two Members with one vote each.

(iii)          A Branch with more than 40 Full members is represented with three, four or five Members dependent on having at least 41, 61 or 81 Full members.

(iv)          The International Members of the Association are represented by one Member with one vote.

(viii)        The following shall also be members of the Council:

(1)           The President

(2)           The Vice President

(3)           The Immediate Past President

(4)           The Treasurer

(5)           Two members proposed by the Advisory Board

The allocation of seats in the Council will be based on the number of Voting Members having paid their annual membership fee to one of the association’s accounts prior to 31st March of the Membership Year.

When the criteria of their election are no longer met, Council members elected based on article 4.1.(i) and 4.1.(iii) have to resign at the Annual General Meeting of the following year.

4.2.-     Term of office

All offices in the Branches, Groups and the Council shall be elected for a term of two years.

At the end of any Term the Members holding such offices shall be eligible for re-election.

In the case of the President, who may similarly be eligible for re-election for a second Term, the President’s maximum term of office shall not exceed four years.

The Treasurer of the Association shall be elected for any Term so determined by the Council, however, he or she shall be required to be re-elected to office and to submit to re-election every two years in a manner similar to any other officer.

Branches, Groups and International Members shall review and re-propose where necessary their delegates to the Council at least once every two years.

The office of a member of Council shall be vacated if he or she:

(a)           Resigns his/her office by notice in writing to the Association

(b)           Becomes bankrupt or makes any arrangement or composition with his/her creditors generally

(c)           Is removed from office by a resolution passed by a General Meeting.

(d)           Ceases for any cause to be a Full or International Member.

4.3.-     Proceedings of the Council

The required quorum for a valid meeting of the Council is 33 % plus one.

The Council may meet together for the dispatch of business, adjournment or otherwise regulate its meetings as it sees fit.

Questions arising at any meeting shall be decided by a majority of votes, being more than 50 % of all the votes present.

In the event of an equality of votes, the motion is not carried.

The President of the Council may, and the Secretary-General on the requisition of at least three members of the Council shall, at any time summon a meeting of the Council.

The President, or in his absence the Vice-President, shall preside as Chairman at every meeting of the Council, but if neither the President nor Vice-President is present and willing to act the Council Member with the highest seniority present at a meeting shall act as Chairman of the meeting.

The Council shall cause minutes to be made in books to be provided for the purpose:

(a) Of all appointments of officers made by the Council.

(b) Of the names of Council members present at each meeting of the Council.

(c) Of all resolutions and proceedings at all meetings of the Council.

The Council may delegate any of its powers to individuals or Committees as they think fit.

Any individual or Committee shall in the exercise of these delegated powers, conform to any regulation that may be imposed on it by the Council, and thereafter reports to the Council at intervals for approval.